2024 Leadership Award Recipients


Congratulations to all of the 2024 Leadership Award Recipients! 

Each year Dalton State's Dean of Students office hosts its annual Student Leadership and Awards Banquet to recognize and honor Dalton State's most distinguished student leaders, student groups, faculty and staff who contribute to the quality of student life on Dalton State’s campus. The event is sponsored by the Dalton State Foundation.

 Award descriptions  Nomination Video Event Photos 

This year's guest speakers were Brigadier General Theodore R. Scott, III, commanding general for the 78th Troop Command in the Georgia Army National Guard, and Jackie Killings, president of Khensani Business Advisors.

Brigadier General Theodore R. Scott, III, commanding general for the 78th Troop Command in the Georgia Army National Guard, and guest speaker.

Jackie Killings, president of Khensani Business Advisors, Army Challenge Coin Award recipient, and advisor for Dalton State's African American Male Initiative.

In addition to the 11 awards distributed each year, Dalton State President John Fuchko, III, surprised attendees with a new award - Army Challenge Coins presented by Scott.

Jackie Killings (left) and BG Scott

Heather Williams, assistant director for Student Life, (left) and BG Scott

Micah Manley, student, (left) and BG Scott


Awards and Recipients

Army Challenge Coins

Presented by BG Scott (guest speaker) and Dr. Fuchko

  • Jackie Killings
  • Heather Williams
  • Micah Manley

Emerging Leaders Institute Certification:

  • Blanca Banuelos  
  • Bibianna Canchola 
  • Obadiah Anderson 
  • Nikhil Rudolph 
  • Kaitlin Garner 
  • Emmanuel Ramirez 
  • Courtney Yancey 
  • Austin Reeves 

Facilitators in Training Certification:

  • Obadiah Anderson 
  • Kaitlin Garner 
  • Erik Ashogbon  Emmanuel Ramirez 
  • Courtney Yancey 

African American Male Initiative Participants:

  • Roderick Cobb
  • Erik Ashogbon
  • Obadiah Anderson
  • Murph Adams
  • Mercoe Smith, Jr.

Advisor of the Year

  • Hayley Cooper

Volunteer of the Year

  • Amber Sturges

Truett Lomax Unsung Hero Award

  • Dr. James Adams
  • Madison Reyes

Melvyn Ottinger Roadrunner Pride Award

  • Bryan Calderon

Jason Ramos Servant Leadership Award

The Ramos family presented award recipients with a $1,000 scholarship ($500 each) for their dedication and commitment to creating positive change in the Northwest, GA, Community. 

  • Destiny Stokes
  • Kaylee Sheldon

Emerging Leaders Award

  • Autumn Christian  
  • Fredy Berganza 
  • Molly Evans 
  • Reshma Kunjum 

Outstanding Student Leaders Award

  • Cameron West 
  • Alex Smith 
  • Jesus Lopez 
  • Brenda Oladejo  
  • Sydney Hermann 
  • Anthony Cruz 

Spence Higgins Hall of Leaders Award

  • Alex Whaley
  • Jerron Phifer
  • Darren Otts
  • Parker Adams
  • Kevin Jones

Diversity and Inclusion Award

  • National Day of Prayer, hosted by the Student Government Association, Baptist Collegiate Ministry, and Muslim Student Association.

Program of Distinction

  • Black Culture Museum, hosted by the Black Student Union.

Registered Student Organization of the Year

  • Alpha Omicron Pi